Monday, 24 October 2016

My alternative constituencies: West London

The considerable number of slightly undersized and slightly oversized constituencies in this area, comprising the boroughs of Brent, Ealing, Harrow, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Kingston-upon-Thames, and Richmond-upon-Thames, means some change will be needed (except in Kingston and Richmond), but as long as the idea of reviving Ealing Acton & Shepherd's Bush is mooted, creating sensible constituencies will be relatively easy.

It is important to note that Southall & Heston should actually include all of the main Southall area, which the initial proposal does not, but disconnecting Hammersmith from North West London helps solve this problem. I am pleased that the initial proposals reunite the community of Hounslow within the wider borough of Hounslow, even at the expense of placing an Ealing ward in Brentford & Isleworth's successor, Brentford & Chiswick (which still has Isleworth in it). Reuniting Yiewsley with West Drayton regarding Hayes & Harlington, is also a sensible move, although Uxbridge & South Ruislip should simply take in the remainder of Ruislip, leaving the current Ealing North untouched. 

Harrow is more problematic, because particularly in terms of London Underground lines, different parts of Harrow connect better with different parts of Brent, meaning that in reality, Harrow must continue to be split east/west (not north/south).

Kingston-upon-Thames and Richmond-upon-Thames is relatively straightforward, since all three constituencies can remain completely intact. They are quite well connected to Hounslow, so I have included them in this area.

My alternative constituencies for West London are therefore:

Feltham & Hounslow succeeds Feltham & Heston.
Brentford & Chiswick succeeds Brentford & Isleworth.
Southall & Heston succeeds Ealing Southall.
Uxbridge & Ruislip succeeds Uxbridge & South Ruislip.
Northwood & Harrow West succeeds Ruislip, Northwood & Pinner.
Harrow Central succeeds Harrow West.
Harrow East & Kenton succeeds Harrow East.
Wembley succeeds Brent North.
Willesden succeeds Brent Central, taking in the Kilburn part of Hampstead & Kilburn.
Richmond Park, Twickenham, Kingston & Surbiton and Ealing North are all unchanged from their 2010 boundaries.

Next in this series: South East London.

No comments:

Post a Comment